Monday, June 05, 2006

Four generations of Quinolones

Monday June 5, 2006
Four generations of Quinolones

The classification of the fluoroquinolones on the basis of generations (imitating from cephalosporins) is not officially standardized, but it is now commonly use to classify them by their spectrum of action.

1st generation - Gram negative coverage but not pseudomonas (example: Nalidixic acid)

2nd generation - Gram negative coverage with pseudomonas and some gram postive coverage including s.aureus but not strep pneumoniae. (example: Ciprofloxacin, Ofloxacin, Norfloxacin)

3rd generation
- Gram negative coverage with pseudomonas. More gram postive coverage including penicillin sensitive and resistant s. pneumoniae. (example: Levofloxacin, Sparfloxacin, Gatifloxacin (tequin), Moxifloxacin (avalox)). Avalox has been said to be the most effective in this generation.

4th generation - Same as 3rd generation but with anaerobic coverage (example: Trovafloxacin (Trovan) ).

comprehensive review on Quinolones (Source: Am Fam Physician 2002;65:455-64, authors: CATHERINE M. OLIPHANT, PHARM.D., University of Wyoming School of Pharmacy and GARY M. GREEN, M.D., Kaiser Permanente, California)